Camino de Santiago – packing list

I have no idea what the ideal weight my bag should be – but right now it feels too heavy to my liking at 16 pounds. After doing some research on other people’s blogs and articles, I’ve narrowed it down to the following:

  • 2 wigwam socks (quick drying)
  • 2 sock liners (one of them is just shin length pantyhose, will update which is better)
  • 2 bras
  • 3 underwear
  • 1 pants
  • 1 shorts
  • 1 capris
  • 3 shirts (one tank, short sleeve, and long sleeve)
  • 1 sweater
  • 1 windbreaker/water-resistant jacket
  • 1 poncho
  • 1 pair of flip flops (shower and post-walk)
  • 1 hiking boots
  • 1 pair of rain gators (figure it’ll be raining quite a bit – avoiding wet feet are a must)
  • Toiletries (shampoo, contact lens+solution, small soap, chunk of laundry soap, toothpaste, toothbrush, deodorant, small first aid kit, vaseline)
  • Camino guidebook
  • ‘S’ hook for showers
  • small bag for showers + groceries
  • flashlight
  • water pack
  • Sleeping bag
  • small towel
  • small tarp
  • extra shoelaces (can be used as a clothes line)

Feels good to write it all down – I guess there are things I don’t need but it would be sacrificing some levels of comfort. My brother did remind me that it’s not about what I’m bringing on my trip that will determine if it’s a ‘good’ trip – but what I make of it. So i’m there to walk, and to enjoy the road… but still – the lighter the bag the better!

About Myra

Thankful :D

2 responses to “Camino de Santiago – packing list

  1. As an experienced Camino trekker I’d add to you list diaper baby pins to hang your clothe to the liners and or on to your back pack in case you clothe doesn’t dry overnight. Do use powder wash soap for the clothe, weighs less 🙂 And I never took the guide book. I had my routes and info in a resumed version – a book weighs a lot, believe me!! Do take ear plugs for the hostels and watch for any type of pain on your feet. Stop and tend to them immediately! Buen Camino!

Leave a Reply

