Quiche Cups

I’ve just gotten home from PEI about a day ago, and like many women who come home on vacation, I check the scale. I can’t expect myself to lose weight after eating lobster, mussels, potatoes and ice cream – so I’ve decided to kick off my return with something healthy.

I tried the south beach diet a while back (quit after 2 weeks), but I found some of the recommended recipes pretty good. Here are some quiche cups with some alterations.

Quiche cups: the ingredients and the results!

Ingredients:

  • Bunch of fresh spinach (steamed, can also use frozen)
  • 5 eggs
  • 1 cup of ricotta cheese
  • 1 green pepper
  • 6-8 button mushrooms
  • 4 slices of turkey bacon
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • shallots (didn’t measure this, but not too much :P)

Instructions:

This recipe is pretty easy – I’ve altered it many times, so feel free to improvise with whats in your fridge.

Set oven to 350. Steam fresh spinach for about 5 minutes. Slice and dice – mushrooms, shallots, and green pepper- pan fry and simmer with lid on medium heat – add salt and pepper. Pan fry the bacon until crispy – then chop to bits! Whisk eggs in separate bowl, then add ricotta cheese and mix well. Mix all ingredients together, and place in a sprayed muffin pan (I just use PAM). Put in oven, and take out when it looks solid and slightly brown around the edges – should be around 20 minutes.

EAT. nomnom.

About Myra

Thankful :D

Leave a Reply

